New Job at Doha

Image

This was my work space in my first job as Quantity Surveyor at Doha, Qatar.  At first, I was a little nervous as I am not familiar with the cost of construction materials in Qatar.  But luckily, working first time in a foreign land has not been very difficult for me as 85% of staff in our Department was Filipino.

It was a really great surprise to me when I learned that senior Filipino employees here were already with the company for more than 25 years!  And not only them, there were also factory workers, not only Filipinos but also other nationalities such as Pakistanis and Indians that were also there for more than 20 years.  The company must be giving them a very good package of salary, benefits and bonuses that made them stay that long.

But, Industrial area became very far for my husband as my service driver, who drives from Hilal to my office in the Industrial area before going to their new office in the West Bay.  Though our office starts at 8am, I have to be at the office before 6:30am for him to reach his office at exactly 7am.  This tight schedule was very prone to road accidents during rush hours of traffic and with a lot of irresponsible drivers in Qatar,

Therefore, after only eight (8) months of working here, I decided to file a resignation and join with another company that is nearer to where we stay.

Leave a Reply

