Why am I here? (My Toastmaster’s Ice Breaker Speech)

Image

Below is a script of my first Toastmaster’s Speech delivered on October 11, 2013 at Oryx Rotana Hotel during the first regular meeting of PICE-Qatar Toastmasters Club.  In Toastmasters, the first speech project is  called an Ice Breaker.  It has an objective of introducing yourself to the group and conquering your fear of speaking in front of an audience.  And yes, I successfully did it with a copy of my script in the lectern and within the time limit allowed.🙂

Why am I here?

Mr. Toastmaster of the Day, fellow toastmasters and honored guests, a pleasant afternoon!

Before I prepared my speech, I did a scrupulous (it was the word of the day during the meeting, so I inserted it before I did the speech) research about the origin of Ice Breaker and I found out that in 17th century in the UK, there is an Ice Breaker ship.  During winter, the sea water often freezes.  So, before a ship could travel down to the trading port, a special ship called Ice Breaker went into the iced water to literally break the ice.  Hence an ice breaker is needed for them to get down to business.  Nowadays, ice breaker is a term use to establish a relaxed relationship in socially awkward situations.

Having said that and before I literally freeze here in front of you, I am here now to kick off my Toastmaster’s journey.

I am Asuncion Lopez and everyone calls me Azon for short.  I was born in the simple province of Bulacan.  I graduated with a Civil Engineering degree but my work experiences diverted me to Quantity Surveying career.

It was never part of my dream to live and work out of our country.  However, because my husband got a good job opportunity here in Qatar, it took a year for me to come up with a decision of joining him here in 2010.  After another year I realized that coming back and forth the Philippines every other month with my son staying in the Philippines and my husband here in Qatar is not a very wise situation, so in 2011 we also decided to bring our son here with us.

After another year had passed and I again realized that I am already getting bored in Qatar for being a stay at home mom, doing the laundry, cooking and cleaning the house everyday.  I was already tired of playing Farmville, chatting with all my facebook friends around the world.  Therefore, I decided to get a job and on January 2012 I started working again as a Quantity Surveyor.  This time, it was no longer in the busy streets of Ayala Avenue in Makati but in the desert land of the State of Qatar.

In last quarter of 2012, I started my studies on Adaptation Course through distance learning in my preparation for assessment of professional competence next year that would lead me to be a member of Royal Institute of Chartered Surveyors in UK.

The first time I heard about Toastmasters was only early this year when Filcom International made a very short presentation in our QS organization because having a good presentation skill is also important to pass the assessment of RICS.  I immediately became interested with Toastmaster however, our organization was not very eager to organize a Toastmaster club.

Toastmasters had crossed my way again when Filcom International made a Demo meeting for PICE at FCC where I was one of the attendees.  I believe being a Toastmaster is really part of my destiny.

Now, I am here as a member and Club Secretary of PICE Qatar Toastmasters Club accepting the challenges to overcome my fear in public speaking and further develop my skills in communication and leadership.

 

Leave a Reply

